CA CCW Permits
Click HERE for Best Handgun Training CCW Instruction and Certification Fees in CA. Or click HERE for CCW training
Your first step should be to
check with your county sheriff department, and obtain their CCW policies and procedures. Many counties have a
CCW website, and can commonly be found in a search engine browser, by entering "(the name of your
county)" sheriff CCW requirements. Look for their official county website, which usually appears within the
first few results on the first page.
Be sure to investigate the background check and
disqualifying factors (crimes, driving record, moral character and/or other concerns) before signing up for a CCW
class. The CCW training course is non refundable.
Unlike most states, CA is a "may issue" state
when it comes to Concealed Weapons Permits.
California CCW permits are generally issued by
the Sheriff of the county which you reside or work in.
The Sheriff of the county which you are
applying in will determine if "good cause" exists for the issuance of the permit. The Sheriff or his/her
designee has the ultimate authority whether to issue you the CCW, or deny the CCW. If you are denied, you are
able to appeal the decision, within a certain time frame.
Of the 58 counties in CA, some Sheriff's
departments down right refuse to issue CA CCW permits. There are others that respect our 2nd Ammendment
rights, and issue a permit to law abiding citizens with good cause, allowing us to defend ourselves and our loved
ones. There are other counties that consider personal protection as good enough cause (very rare, so confirm with
our instructors before you register for a course).
While it may be possible (in some areas) to
obtain a CCW permit in CA from your local police department, it is more common for the police department to
refer you to the local Sheriff.
Each county has their specific training
requirements to obtain your CA CCW permit. The CCW training may differ from county to county
The Sheriff's department approves CCW trainers
within the county. Depending upon the county that you reside or are applying in, CCW training consists of
8-16 hours for an initail CCW permit, and 4-8 hours for a renewal. The original CCW permit is not
valid for a period of longer than 2 years, and must be renewed prior to the 2 year expiration. Some counties
are now requiring an annual qualification with the firearms on your permit.
There are Federal laws and restrictions as to
when and where a CCW permit holder may not carry a concealed weapon.
The CA Issuing Agency (Sheriff) may
impose any sort of restrictions on a CCW Permit. Some issuing agencies have been
known to place restrictions such as "no schools, no gun free
zones, no public assemblies, no area with a sign prohibiting firearms", etc.
For more information, visit this link.
Utah CCW Permits, Nevada and Florida CCW Permits DO NOT allow you to carry a concealed firearm within
the State of California. Utah CCW Permits, Nevada and Florida CCW Permits are issued for "Personal Protection".
Reciprocity and Recognition of Permits from State to State is a complex issue, we cannot and will not give legal
advice. If you need accurate answers to specific legal questions, contact the State Issuing Authority or consult an
Attorney who is licensed within the State in question. This is not an NRA approved course.